Rebel With a Cause

A journey into personal development

I’ve seen better days

Today posed a great many challenges.

My day started out well. I chose to pull myself out of bed early enough to get a jump-start on the day. I paid a visit to one of my best anonymous resources I can say that my visit to her went exceptionally well. I updated her on my progress, we talked about holding boundaries, and other things relevant to my life. She shared with me that ignoring the critics can get you to amazing places. The last thing we discussed were expectations and where they lead for me.

I expect people to be different, environments to transform based upon my actions in them, things to happen on MY schedule. If life does not meet my terms, I throw a temper tantrum.

For example, tomorrow was my move date to a sober living environment. However I ignored the fact I was behind academically, and this put me in a place not right for the sober living. I chose to change my date of departure to the following week. However before this my expectation was to move before the end of the week. What happened when I didn’t get what I expected? My spirits were crushed, I became irritable and angry, and I shifted blame to my environment. But what if I had the expectation of moving to sober living when the time is right for me?

Tomorrow mindfulness of expectations will be especially important. I have to meet with my guidance counselor, attend a job interview, and contact another employer about an opportunity. The situation can go anyway it would like, and as like as I keep my expectations in line, the outcome will always be positive.

-Derek

P.S.

If your just passing on by, I’d love for more email subscribers! You can find it in the upper right corner! Thanks!

Leave a comment